Vermont Court Records
What are Vermont Traffic Tickets?
In Vermont, traffic tickets are legal notices issued to persons charged with violating state traffic laws. The official term for a traffic ticket in Vermont is a ‘Civil Violation Complaint.’ They are usually prepared by patrol officers of the state’s law enforcement agencies such as the Vermont State Police, Judicial Bureau, and the Division of Motor Vehicles. In addition to issuing tickets to violating motorists, state law enforcement also oversees court hearings, enforces judgments and penalties, and generates driving records for individuals. Traffic violation cases are governed by the Vermont Statutes Online, Title 23 of the state.
Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching more straightforward, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the document or person involved
Third-party sites are independent of government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party sites may vary.
What Does a Traffic Citation Mean in Vermont?
In Vermont, the terms ‘traffic citation’ and a traffic ticket are used interchangeably. However, traffic citations usually contain the following information:
- The time and the place of the offense
- Registration details of the vehicle involved
- The nature of the violation as is defined by the Vehicle Code of the state
- Identity of the issuing officer
- Amount of fine required to be paid
- set a date for a court hearing
- a notice of the rights of the defendant
How Do I Pay a Traffic Ticket in Vermont?
The Vermont Judicial Bureau has statewide jurisdiction over civil violations, part of which includes traffic violations. When a motorist receives a civil violation complaint notice, there are three ways to respond to it:
- enter a no-contest plea
- enter a guilty plea
- enter a not-guilty plea
A no-contest or guilty plea automatically waives the defendant’s right to a hearing. A ‘waiver penalty,’ also known as a ticket fine, must be paid in its place. In Vermont, a panel of three judges set the cost of the waiver fines. Additional expenses, such as surcharge and court fees, will be added to make up the total cost waiver penalty. After signing the plea form, requestors must enclose the required amount and take it to the Vermont Judicial Bureau in person or by mail. The deadline for payment of a waiver penalty is 21 days, after which extra fees will be incurred, and a judgment will be entered against the individual. Occasionally a ticketed individual may not be able to meet the deadline. If this happens, fill out the form- Request for Extension of Time to Pay Fine and submit to the Bureau office. Where the requestor is unable to afford the filing fees and service costs, they must fill out the Application to Waive Filing Fees and Service Costs and submit all before the 21-day deadline.
Can You Pay Vermont Traffic Tickets Online?
Yes. The Vermont Judiciary Public Portal provides online payment options to interested persons. Online payments are limited to traffic tickets that have a waiver penalty option. In other words, traffic tickets with a mandatory court hearing cannot be paid online. However, offenders who fight the Vermont traffic tickets and win, are exempted from paying the fine.
How do I Pay a Ticket Online in Vermont?
Go to the Vermont Judiciary Public Portal and register to set up a new user account. After registering, the offender may search for the violation complaint. A search can be conducted using any one of these terms:
- Citation number
- Case number
- Party name
- Driver license
- Business name
Follow the instructions for payment on the portal. Only electronic payments will be accepted, and all transactions will attract service charges. Be sure to verify the information on the citation before proceeding to pay. If there are errors, contact the court address below:
82 Railroad Road
White River Junction
After payment, the traffic citation status is updated, and a notification is sent to the individual.
What is the Vermont Traffic Ticketing System?
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, Agency of Transportation, uses a driving point system to record offending motorists’ violations. The points are awarded based on the severity of the crime, as defined by Vermont state laws. These points are allowed to accumulate to a point where stiffer penalties can be enforced. Minor violations such as speeding will add a minimum of two to four points to a driving record. Other offenses in this category are:
- Refusal to yield the right-of-way
- Driving without a valid driver’s license
- Texting while driving
- Refusal to stop for a school bus with warning lights
- Driving on the wrong side of the traffic lane
- Resisting a police orders
- Refusal to yield a pedestrian right-of-way
A motorist can acquire 10 points in one incident under the following circumstances:
- Careless driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Evading the police
10-point violations are deemed as severe offenses and usually do not have waiver penalty options. In other words, a 10-point offender will receive a mandatory court appearance on their citation. The accumulation of 10 points within the space of two years will lead to a 10-day suspension of a driver’s license in Vermont: 15 points attract 30 days, and 20 points will lead to a three-month driving suspension. After that, every extra five points will attract an additional one month’s driving license suspension. A reinstatement fee must be paid either online or at the Montpelier office in person or via mail. Reinstatement requests can be addressed to:
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier VT 05602
Other requirements for reinstatement include:
- Submission of the proof of insurance
- Retake and pass driving skills and knowledge tests
- Fulfill all course requirements
- Obtain medical clearance
- Complete alcohol courses as ordered by the Judicial Bureau
A written notice to the effect is sent to the driver to become reinstated.
How Do I Know if I Have a Traffic Ticket in Vermont?
A driving record will provide summary information about any existing traffic tickets that a motorist may have in Vermont. Interested persons may request for a driving record by following the instructions on the DMV Records Request Information page. The Vermont Courts Online system also allows members of the public to access Court information remotely. New users must create an account at $12.50, while subsequent searches will attract 50 cents per search.
How Can I Find a Lost Traffic Ticket in Vermont?
Visit the Judicial Bureau’s office to make inquiries about recovering a lost ticket or send an email. If preferred, call (802) 295–8869. Another way is to visit the Police department of the city or county where the ticket was issued. The addresses can be found on the county or city website’s page. All inquiries must be made before the payment deadline to avoid additional charges, and an adverse judgment is entered against the individual.
How Long Does a Traffic Ticket Stay on Your Record in Vermont?
When traffic tickets are paid to the Judicial Bureau, the court closes the case but reports it as a conviction to the Department of Motor Vehicles. A sentence is entered according to the driving points allocated to the offense. These points remain on a driving record for at least two years. Additional crimes will extend the length of time that convictions stay on a driving record. More serious traffic violations such as driving under the influence (DUI) or vehicular homicide attract a lifetime dent on a driving record.
Is a Summon Worse Than a Ticket in Vermont?
The word summons is not commonly used in Vermont traffic law matters. However, the summons’ principle signifies a mandatory court appearance and any fine that may have been imposed. A mandatory court appearance does not always mean that the case’s outcome will yield stiffer penalties; instead, it means that the traffic violation requires the offender to attend a compulsory court hearing.